Agora (2019)
Artist: Mark Pilkington
Duration: 10’40
Format: Stereo

Agora (2019) is a generative piece of electroacoustic music that combines analog and digital
audio technologies. A number of sonic patterns were formed by live coding an algorithm to
create various types of automated process of music composition. These generative processes
act as a mediating form to interconnect in the development of machine musicianship and
interactive music. Through the application of generative processes we become the primary
authors of our own digital paradigm – beyond interfaces and cultural norms. The formation of
algorithmic design questions preconceived ideas of music to reveal uncharted territories of
space. Investigating new forms of matter through algorithms results in an incomplete and
emergent discourse.
​Agora ​addresses these concerns by creating a situation where real-time
sound transformations are linked to the systematic design of human and machine interaction.
Presenting a process that acts as a ‘simulation of models’ (Baudrillard, 1994) that places sound as a navigating medium
of expression to question the wider concerns of visual dominance.

PDF – Agora programme note and artist Bio.
CAS 50 exhibition
Copyright 2019 © Thought Universe Music